Reply to this topicStart new topic
Service 4wd Message On Dic
soldier74
post Nov 8 2010, 08:31 AM
Post #1

Silver Member

Group: Supporting Member
Member No.: 12,022

As I was heading up to Fort Worth yesterday, the truck was doing great, with the seafoam treatment, fuel treatment, and the throttle body cleaned up she was sounding and accelearating great (with an exception of my cluster f***ing up as usual). Out of nowhere this message comes on my DIC "Service 4WD"

What needs to happen when this message comes up? I checked the manual and the only thing I can find is info about the transfer case and when to change out the fluids.

I also noticed the transfer case went into Neutral cause the LED was on neutral on the dash. I got freaked out being that Im not that experienced with the 4WD system. It's always been on 2HI whenever I just drive normally. And whenever I do use the 4WD it switches over peacefully and easily and I have never had problems with it. 4WD is still just as functional right now.

Do I need to just change out the fluids or get it looked at?

Thanks for your help

--------------------

2005 Tahoe Z71 4X4
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
eppieguy
post Nov 8 2010, 08:44 AM
Post #2

Needs a Life!

Group: Moderators
Member No.: 731

Most likely your encoder motor, could be the switch. There is a fix for the switch in the how to section. As for the encoder motor you can replace it yourself if your'e good with tools.

--------------------

2009 Corvette Coupe Painted Door Handles, Painted License Plate Frame, Front License plate custom lower mount, Nav. override switch, Fender screens, Z06 Painted 3rd. brake light custom leather padded console cover, customs floor mats. customs Carbon Fiber shift knob. ZR1 Repo Chrome wheels.
2009 Tahoe Z71 6000K HID's & Fogs, PIAA High Beam Bulbs, Amber DRL's, Tint, BlackBear Tune, Bilstein 5100 Struts,1.5" rear spacers, Hellwig Sways. (Sold 07/12)